As far as I’m aware it’s just temporary, either as a result of the cold given to me so kindly by a business student of mine, or the medicine I’m using to counter it. It could be totally unrelated and I just have a tumour up there or something but I’m not one to self-diagnose like that.

But it is the weirdest feeling I’ve ever had. The weirdest thing about it is that I don’t really ‘feel’ anything.

Usually when you have some kind of disorder, disease or injury, you have something to show for it, be it howls of agony or handwritten letters to satan, begging him to take you away to a better land of eternal but otherwise tolerable torture.

With this, there is nothing. I have a slightly stuffy nose while on the medicine, and dry lips. They are the lingering remnants of a cold, but a loss of two senses seems unrelated, an illness in and of itself.

But with no pain, no discomfort, where am I going with this writing? Well, I dunno. Has anyone else experienced it?

At first, for the first day or so I was thinking if it never returned, it would be a minor loss in life. Hearing or eyesight would be devastating. A limb, years of psychological recovery. No smell or taste just seems less than a minor inconvenience, and in some ways, an advantage (Especially when living in China).

But on the second day, I started to feel I was missing out in some ways. I don’t know about you, but I use smell when I shower to check if I’m sufficiently clean, something I guess is instinct, given that I never thought about it until now. Without smell, I felt lost as to when I was actually clean.

With my clothes hanging out to dry, I took a sniff to make sure they had dried quickly enough and were fresh, but again, no result.

I spent an hour working on the greatest Indian Madras of all time, and my taste wouldn’t allow me to enjoy it. All I got was a vague concept of spice, but no actual flavour of spice. just the desire to hiccup, which has been an ongoing side effect of eating anything spicy since I was about 20.

The same again when I made a tomato & carrot soup, something I made once before and know for a fact is fricking amazing. Today? Nothing.

As the day went by I realised that I CAN taste. A little, little bit. A little bitter. Great. Of all the taste families in the world, my abilities chose the worst one.

I started getting this constantly bitter taste in my mouth. Not because it was a new onset of taste, but simply because I was more aware of it after thinking about it. Cleaning my teeth didn’t help. In act, the minty toothpaste apparently has a little overtone of bitterness, since that was all that I registered.

So now I have a mouthful of bitterness, 24 hours a day, making me feel like I’ve been out boozing and vomiting all week.

My room is full of a kind of fragrant rose scent from a bottle of… room perfume? I like, and I also tried to light some Incense my friend brought back from Thailand which is always nice. Nothing. I can’t go to restaurants with friends because I’d be spending money basically on texture and bitterness. I can’t make fruit smoothies because I’ll get no joy out of it. I can’t cook because I can’t judge the balance by smell.

I ended up, despite my current run of health, on a MacDonald delivery, simply because I was still a bit sick, without food and unwilling to go outside. It’s not like I could taste it anyway.

Seriously, this is so weird.

One thought on “I lost my sense of taste and smell

  1. I got a chest infection and was prescribed Clarithromycin antibiotic. Within 24 hours of taking it I completely lost my sense of taste and have a foul sense in my mouth. This is called Aguesia and Dysguesia and is a common side effect of many antibiotics and it can be permanent. Doctors say it can be caused by just the virus but thats bullshit they use to protect themselves, its definitely caused by the drug. The worst thing is the pathology test came back as a virus so I didn’t even need the antibiotic because they don’t work on viruses. Anorexia is a common side effect of getting this problem as eating is just disgusting, I’m struggling to eat anything, I quickly force food down just for nutrition and never go out to eat. I am suing the doctor as he gave me a drug I did not need and didn’t warn me of any possible side effects. If I had known there is no way I would have taken the drug. There need to be strong laws on antibiotics so I am harassing my government and health authorities. Don’t trust doctors as they are full of shit and are paid drug dealers, make sure you get at least three opinions and see a chinese doctor for an alternative to dangerous life destroying drugs. I am now undergoing accupuncture and taking nerve tonics to try to help but it’s early days.

Leave a Reply

